Mysuru Palace


The Palace of Mysore (also known as the Amba Vilas Palace) is a historical palace in the city of Mysore in Karnataka. Designed by the English Architect, Henry Irwin, the Mysore Palace dominates the skyline of Mysore. A three storied structure in the Indo-Saracenic style built between 1897-1912, the palace has beautifully designed square towers at cardinal points, covered with domes. The Durbar Hall with its ornate ceiling and sculpted pillars and the Kalyanamantapa (marriage pavilion) with its glazed tiled flooring and stained glass, domed ceiling are worth noting.Intricately carved doors, the golden howdah (elephant seat), paintings as well as the fabulous, jewel encrusted golden throne (displayed during Dasara) are amongst the palace’s other treasures. The walled palace complex houses the Residential Museum (incorporating some of the Palace’s living quarters), temples and shrines including the Shwetha Varahaswamy temple. The palace is illuminated on Sundays, Public Holidays as well as during the Dasara Celebrations where 97,000 electric bulbs are used to illuminate it.

The Palace has four entrances. Main entrance is called “Jaya Maarthaanda” to the east, “Jayarama” to the North, ”Balarama” to the South and “Varaha” to the west.

Timings, Entrance Fee and Contact
Timings : 10 AM to 5:30 PM, all the days.

Entrance Fee

Adults Rs. 50

Children below 7 years : Free Entrance

Children between above 7 to 12 Years : Rs. 30

Phone:0821-2421 051.


Tourists are not allowed to take photographs inside the palace.

Audio Kit available at Mysore Palace in the following languages :


Photo Gallery

  • Mysuru Palace
    AmbaVilasa Palace(Mysuru Palace)
  • Ambavilasa - Mysuru Palace Mysore
    Ambavilasa - Mysuru Palace , Mysuru
  • Mysore Palace Mysuru
    Ambavilasa - Mysuru Palace Entrance Gate

How to Reach :

By Air

Airport : 10.5 Km

By Train

Railway Station : 1.9 Km

By Road

Sub Urban Bus Stand : 1 Km